The Hunt for the Ice Warrior

Published November 17, 2013 by joscasta

Days left till the 50th: 6

Episodes watched:  97

Today’s Episode: Cold War

Writer: Mark Gatiss

Cold War Poster

When determining who was gonna write this episode, I have this scenario in my head, with Moffat, Gatiss and Gaiman sitting around a table in a café.

Moffat: So Gaiman, I want you to make the Cybermen scary again. Can you do that? They are such a classic monster, and they just thud around. They need to be refreshed.

Gaiman: Sure, I’m pretty sure I can come up with something, as they made me make pools off wee behind a sofa as a kid.

Moffat: Now Gatiss..

Gatiss: What? I’m not doing another historical. I did mine already with “The Unquiet Dead”. You remember that episode right? Also “Victory of the Daleks” can be considered a historical too, and I already gave you my rough draft of Crimson Horror. Can I have a classic monster too?

Moffat: Which one? What was that one that looked like a plant with lips like well.. you know?

Gatiss: You mean the Vervoids? No. What about the Ice Warriors?

Moffat: What about them? They were kinda like the Cybermen.

Gatiss: I wanna re-do them too. If Gaiman gets the Cybermen, I want the Ice Warriors. We have the technology now to make them pop out at you. Perhaps we shall see what they look like under that suit they wear?

Moffat: FINE. How man episodes are you doing this season anyway? I’m already planning on opening with the Daleks, so we can’t shove in too many classic monsters at once. I mean we just brought back the Great Intelligence at Christmas.

Gatiss: Just Crimson Horror. I wasn’t part of the first half of season 7, and I’ve been super busy filming the OTHER Doctor Who Special, An Adventure Through Time and Space. Or you have you forgotten that your special is the only one? Also don’t forget I’ve been helping you out with Sherlock too.

Moffat: Fine you win, do the Ice Warriors. Make them scary.. like Gaiman just said, I want the kids hiding behind the sofa and making pools of wee!!!

Well if not that, something similar to that.. I hope had occurred. Here is what a Vervoid looks like..

vervoids

I did like this episode at some points, others where a bit meh. I mean the Doctor and Clara were supposed to go to Vegas, as the Doctor is sporting those Elvis sunglasses that I bought for my ex when I was there. Silly Tardis decides to just drop them off there it seems, then runs to the South Pole to await for them to finish adventuring.

The good parts, pretty much the professor. It was awesome to see the Onion Knight too for you Game of Thrones fans. I loved this bit..

CLARA: What was that?

PROFESSOR: The Doctor told you, it’s just the boat settling. Tell me about yourself. What do you like doing? Clara?

CLARA hears some metallic rattling and looks around.

PROFESSOR: Clara?

CLARA:
(distracted) Stuff. You know, stuff.

PROFESSOR: “Stuff”? Very enlightening. And the Doctor, what he said, is it true? You’re… from another time… from our future? Clara?

CLARA: Yes.

PROFESSOR: (stands) Tell me what happens.

CLARA: I can’t.

PROFESSOR: Well, I need to know.

CLARA: I’m not allowed.

PROFESSOR: No, please.

CLARA: I can’t!

PROFESSOR: Ultravox, do they split up?

CLARA: (laughs) Funny. You’re funny!

After seeing this episode I was curious to know if Ultravox did split up. The professor would be delighted to know they are still together and touring, although the members have changed and they did break up for a bit.

Now another great thing about this episode.. is you recall these lines from Forest of the Dead??

DOCTOR There’s a signal coming from somewhere interfering with it.

RIVER Use the red settings.

DOCTOR It doesn’t have a red setting.

RIVER Well, use the dampers.

DOCTOR It doesn’t have dampers.

RIVER It will do one day.

Lo, Eleven goes around after it being green and suddenly we see this…

red setting

Wow. We finally see the red settings on the sonic! Hurray!!

The bad.. well one can argue that using the 1980s era of the Cold War and the Mutally Assured destruction is not a good time. It was more assured back in the 70s, than early 80s. However I can see why Gatiss wanted to use “Hungry Like the Wolf”, thus it had to be in the 80s, as there are very few tunes that are recognizable from the 70s that people do for Karoke at Hen Night.

Any, till tomorrow, apperntly we have a Haunted House? Hmmmmm

Leave a Reply

