Memories are films about ghosts…

Published November 16, 2013 by joscasta

Days left till the 50th: 7 (ONE WEEK!)

Episodes watched:  96

Today’s Episode: Rings of Akhaten

Writer: Neil Cross

Rings Poster

I don’t like this episode at all. There are so many errors and inconsistencies in this episode, I just can’t bear it. However for fun facts and other Anniversary thingys that the BBC is throwing up on youtube… let’s go that route instead eh?

First off look at this grave..

clara's mum

Look at the date she died. She died the day that “Rose” aired in the UK. One can argue that she might have died in the shop that the Doctor exploded, but that doesn’t make sense as no one died in that explosion that we are aware of.

It is kinda cool when they go to the market, and the Doctor mentions his granddaughter, Susan! I adore the shoutout to the classics… and all the awesome costumes they had to put together to create the market place and the concert.. so much work I’m sure. It was also odd to see a cross between an Ood and a Hath, who knows who came up with that.

As for quotes, we have one that the Doctor refrences one of my favorite writers, Lewis Carol,

DOCTOR: It’s not a god! It’ll feed on your soul, but that doesn’t make it a god. It is a vampire (points at AKHATEN) and you don’t need to give yourself to it. Hey, do you mind if I tell you a story? (leans over) One you might not have heard? All the elements in your body were forged many, many millions of years ago, in the heart of a far away star that exploded and died. (kneels) That explosion scattered those elements across the desolations of deep space. After so, so many millions of years, these elements came together to form new stars and new planets. And on and on it went. The elements came together and burst apart, (stands) forming shoes and ships and sealing-wax and cabbages and kings. (stands behind MERRY and puts his hands on her shoulders) Until eventually, they came together to make you. You’re unique in the universe. There is only one Merry Gejelh. And there will never be another. (walks forward with MERRY) Getting rid of that existence isn’t a sacrifice. It is a waste.

And another great speech that he gives to the “Old God”, some people like it better than the Pandorica Opens..

DOCTOR: I saw the birth of the universe and I watched as time ran out, moment by moment, until nothing remained. No time. No space. Just me. I’ve walked in universes where the laws of physics were devised by the mind of a madman. I’ve watched universes freeze and creations burn. I’ve seen things you wouldn’t believe. I’ve lost things you’ll never understand. And I know things. Secrets that must never be told. Knowledge that must never be spoken. Knowledge that will make parasite gods blaze. (spreads arms out) So come on then! Take it! Take it all, baby! Have it! You have it all!

He doesn’t lose his memories at all after that. That is one of the things that upsets me, and luckily Clara stepped in. Which happens a lot this season, quite a few times where she has to get the Doctor out of a few tight spots.

Now, thanks for reading this far, I have to give you the miniepisode Night of the Doctor! Don’t worry, no spoilers for the actual big long special occurs. I wasn’t planning on watching it, but my friend actually pulled this up on his phone and shoved it in my face to make me watch it, and I was ok with that.. once I realized there was no Ten or Eleven in it. So feel free to watch, as it finally gives some more backstory to the one Doctor we know ZILCH about, EIGHT!!!! (note that captions work for it.. for those that need it!)

Till Tomorrow, another olde enemy and a submarine. 

Leave a Reply

