“Rose”

Published August 13, 2013 by joscasta

Days left till the 50th: 102

Episodes watched: 1

Today’s Episode: Rose

Writer: Russell T. Davies

RUNNNNNNNN

 

The most appropriate first line for the Doctor to say to Rose. I think it’s the fifth time I have seen that episode since I watched it for the first time since November. I recall just sitting there, just like Rose, utterly stupefied by this whole “Doctor” character. I went on that beginning journey with her… the stupid cheesy plastic effects didn’t do much to help the story. What got me hooked into staying and binge watching, was this very simple speech by the Eccleston…

Do you know like we were saying, about the earth revolving? It’s like when you’re a kid, the first time they tell you that the world is turning and you just can’t quite believe it ’cause everything looks like it’s standing still. I can feel it…

[He takes her hand]

The turn of the earth. The ground beneath our feet is spinning at a thousand miles an hour. The entire planet is hurtling around the sun at sixty seven thousand miles an hour. And I can feel it. We’re falling through space, you and me, clinging to the skin of this tiny little world. And, if we let go…

[He releases her hand]

That’s who I am. Now forget me, Rose Tyler. Go home.

This episode was fantastic in a way, as it showed Rose’s perspective of what was going on in her life, with Mickey the Idiot and her Mum basically making life hell for her after she lost her job due to the Doctor blowing up the shop she worked at.  You were learning about the Doctor as she was, with her simple computer search, and her trying to piece together who this guy is, and just like Rose, I had very little foreknowelege about this whole “Doctor Who” thing when I first started.

Quite a few people dislike this episode. I on the other hand love it, as it truly is a great launching pad for people to discover whom this Doctor is alongside Rose.  Eccleston really did a great job in his one season as the Doctor, and I know people prefer Tennant or Smith, but really, he was my first Doctor, and as much as I love Tennant and Smith in this role, Eccleston was the one that made me want to keep exploring.

Russell T. Davies (RTD) whom is the Executive Producer and the writer of this episode had an extremely difficult task, that he managed to accomplish quite beautifully, trying to come up with a story that would bridge the people that have been watching since November 23rd, 1963 and had to live through the long hiatus with those people that were just tuning in for the very first time. Ecclestion did a great job, being very to the point sometimes yet a bit vague when Rose was pestering him with questions, and managed to maintain the zanyiness of the Doctor… which kept you laughing, hordes of Ghengis Khan anyone?

Another great line that pretty much sums up why it would be awesome to be a companion…

You can stay here, fill your life with work and food and sleep or you could go anywhere.

And with that… the countdown has begun with the first episode viewed, 101 left to go!!!

Rose runs to Tardis

Leave a Reply

